×

Your security is our priority

At Accompany, your trust means everything

It's your data.
We'll make sure to keep it that way.

In order to serve you, we ask for some pretty sensitive data. We don’t make this request lightly and we work hard to keep all of your data safe and secure.

To give you the best experience on Accompany, here’s what we need:

Calendar

Why do you need my calendar?

Your calendar tells us who to prep you for based on your upcoming meetings.

How do you protect my privacy?

We encrypt titles and descriptions of your meetings in storage and in transit.

Email

Why do you need my email?

Your email helps us determine which of your contacts are most important to you.

How do you protect my privacy?

We only store To:, From:, and Date: fields from your email, along with a pointer to its location on your email provider’s server. Email subjects and email bodies are not stored.

Contacts

Why do you need my contacts?

We need to know who your people are to serve you useful information about your network.

How do you protect my privacy?

We do not spam your contacts or share contact info like email addresses and phone numbers.

View our Privacy Policy for more information.

Security

We take the security of your data very seriously.

We strive to constantly improve our security measures. Our current security practices include the following:

We encrypt information in storage using 256-bit AES encryption and in transit using 128-bit SSL encryption. In addition, we conduct security audits with a third-party white-hat provider to test our security measures.

FAQs

1. What information does Accompany collect from me?

When you sign up for Accompany, we ask you to link your work account from Google, Microsoft Outlook or Microsoft Office 365 and your contacts and calendars from your smartphone. By authorizing these accounts, you allow us view-only access to basic info about yourself (e.g. your name and email address), your contacts and calendar.

We realize calendars may hold sensitive information and redact all but the first and last three letters of the event title and the entire event descriptions in our support interfaces. The first and last three letters of the event title allow our customer support advocates to serve your calendar-related questions.

For email, we only access the To: From: and Date: portions of the email headers in order to detect communication patterns. This in turn enables us to serve you more relevant news on your network. You will see subject lines and snippets of email in ‘Email History.’ These are generated in real time by making API calls to your mail server each time you tap on the Email History tab and are NOT stored in Accompany servers.

You may also choose to link your Twitter account, which allows us to view and bring you your Twitter followers and the Twitter accounts you follow into your Accompany experience.

2. How is my information kept safe?

We encrypt information in storage using 256-bit AES encryption and in transit using 128-bit SSL encryption. In addition, we conduct security audits with a third-party white-hat provider to evaluate our security measures and stay up-to-date with industry practices.

3. How is data collected and used?

Please see our Privacy Policy for information about how we collect, store and use data in connection with our Service.

4. How can I suggest corrections or changes to my Accompany profile?

We know that you know you best! To flag any incorrect or missing information, hit “Edit Profile” on your own profile page. You’ll see any changes you flagged reflected within 48 business hours.

If you’d like to send us any feedback on other profiles or the app in general, just shake your phone or hit the blue feedback button in the bottom right-hand corner of our web app. Our support team will assist you and answer any questions you have.

5. What if I decide to close my account? Do you keep my data?

You have the ability to deactivate your account at any time by visiting Settings. We will purge account data for all deactivated accounts. You will lose all personal notes, meeting notes, and any additional contact information you’ve added to contacts via Accompany. We can’t retrieve this information once it is deleted. Please see our Privacy Policy for more details on closing accounts and the time it takes to purge accounts.

6. What if there’s an emergency? Can I still access my data?

We implement nightly backups of all databases and our data is stored simultaneously at multiple, geographically distributed locations for redundancy purposes in the event of a natural disaster or other emergency.